2nd Kohima 2022 Interdepartmental Badminton Tournament Ends | MorungExpress


Winners of the 2nd Kohima 2022 Interdepartmental Badminton Tournament, which concluded in Kohima on July 23. (photo Morung).

Our correspondent
Kohima | July 24

The 2nd Kohima Interdepartmental Badminton Tournament 2022, under the auspices of the Kohima Interdepartmental Badminton Club, was held from July 22 to 23 at the Nagaland Legislative Assembly (NLA) Multipurpose Hall, Kohima.

The tournament saw a total of 98 teams representing 31 different Kohima government departments in four categories of Men’s Doubles, Women’s Doubles, Mixed Doubles and 50+ Legislators, Retired), according to Shanavas C, Organizer, Inter Department Badminton Club Kohima.

Winners received a cash prize of Rs 15,000 while runners-up received Rs 10,000 in each category.
The oldest participant in the tournament was Bendang Jamir (77), who had also represented India at the World Veterans Badminton Championship in Turkey in the past.

The closing ceremony was graced by MP Y Vikheho Swu, who also represented the legislator’s team along with MP Eshak Konyak.

During the inaugural program, Minister of Higher Education and Tribal Affairs of Nagaland, Temjen Imna Along graced the occasion as a special guest on July 22.


*Men’s Doubles Championship
Winner – Er Vipulhou Lhoungu & Er Imolong Jamir (Technical Education)
Finalist – Sabou Yashu & Kekhriesetuo Ziepru (IDBC)

*Women’s Doubles Championship
Winner – Debahuti Lahon & Angela (AG)
Finalist – Uma Tamang & Shoniu S (HQP)

Mixed Doubles Championship
Winner-Manoj Kumar & Uma Tamang (PHQ)
Finalist – Debahuti Lahon & AP Chophy (AG)

*50+, Legislators and Retirees Championship
Winner – I. Temjen Ao & N. Wati
Finalist – Bendang Jamir & Pelezotuo Miachieo


Comments are closed.