Elmore County Technical Center cuts ribbon for new wing and holds ceremony to welcome new fire truck – Elmore-Autauga News

Superintendent of Elmore County Schools. Richard Dennis discovers a new fire engine that will be used at the ECTC.

briar knight

Elmore/Autauga News

Photos by Heather Knight and courtesy of Michael Morgan.

The expansion of the Elmore County Technical Center was celebrated today with a ribbon cutting to introduce a new wing to the facility. This represents a huge step forward in technical education for Elmore County and sets the stage for the future.

The ECTC will host programs for aviation, plumbing, construction, medical sciences, HVAC, welding, public safety, and electrical law and work.

Many city officials were in attendance, including Mayor Jerry Willis of Wetumpka, members of the Elmore County School Board, Walter Mckee, the architect who designed the wing, and many others from surrounding communities.

Elmore County Commission Chairman Troy Stubbs spoke about the importance of education to the community and the commission. “We believe that education is the heart of our community. We will ensure that our education programs thrive,” Stubbs said.

The next step for the technical school and the city is to build a fully functional and regulated fire station across the street from the school for the students to get hands-on training in.

Today, organizers held a push ceremony to welcome a new fire truck to the Elmore County Technical Center.

Today’s celebration also included a facility tour to showcase the eight new programs included in the new wing.

Elmore County School Board Chairman Michael R Morgan posted photos on social media, saying, “It was a wonderful day for education and opportunity in Elmore County as we cut the ribbon of the new facility at the Elmore County Career Tech Center! Each student empowered, each student succeeds!”

We will have much more information about the expansion of ECTC in future articles.


Michael Morgan, chairman of the Elmore County School Board.
Elmore County School Superintendent. Richard Dennis.
Troy Stubbs, Chairman of the Elmore County Commission
Jerry Willis, Mayor of Wetumpka
Richie Beyer, COO of the Elmore County Commission and Cary Cox, Director of ECEDA.
Jamie McGowin and Jimmy Harris.
At left if Commissioner Henry Hines. At right is Commissioner Chair Troy Stubbs.

Comments are closed.